Tsaritsyno estate and park surrounding it is located in the southern part of Moscow. Of course, in 16 century when it was built the path from Moscow to Tsaritsyno was longer and the residence stayed on the outskirts of the city. Right now the land became part of the city, but it hasn’t lost its original charm.
Early history of the palace
From the time it was built estate changed several owners, but the most remarkable trace was left by Russian Empress Catherine the Great. She bought the estate in 1775 and gave the land to the greatest Russian architect of that time Vasily Bazhenov to build a country residence that is worth a queen to live. The result of Bazhenov work was taking the breath away. Short after the order was placed he created a great architectural complex in pseudo-gothic style. The main palace of the residence called Bolshoy was surrounded by numerous gates, arcs, bridges and pavilions in this style.
Unfortunately, we cannot see this original palace nowadays. For some unknown reasons Catherine stopped her investments into this project and in 1785 the palace was teared down.
New life of Tsaritsyno
Eventually new project was started by Bazhenov’ student Matvey Kazakov, who created the new palace following the steps of his master. The look of the palace changed and yet the project was suspended one more time with Catherine’s death. Since then for almost two centuries the place was abandoned and stayed unfinished. Only in 1960, when the park territory became a district of Moscow, it gained the status of protected historical zone.
Attention of the public made the city authorities start the renovation project, but only in 2007 the complex was finished (with Bolshoy palace included) and opened to public.
Nowaday Tsaritsyno became one of the most beautiful and picturesque places in Moscow suburbs for tourists to visit. In winter this place has even more charming atmosphere with snow covering the ground. Excursion to Tsaritsyno is included almost in every Moscow tour. The residence boasts not only historical architectural ensemble and tells the stories of Catherine’s past, but presents you with calm ponds, scenic landscapes and timeless atmosphere.
Park is open from 6:00 AM to 12:00 AM.
Museums are closed on Monday.
Entrance fee is from 100 to 300 roubles depending on museum. Every 3rd Sunday of each month the entry to Bolshoy palace and Bread house is free.
Park is located in 10 minutes walking distance from Tsaritsyno or Orekhovo metro stations.
|4The journey through time with Empress Catherine the Great|